Lance

by SingleMomInCebu.com

It’s been over a month since my first post.

Work and mothering you had kept me from blogging. Know though that my memory is fuller and richer with our moments together than what SingleMomInCebu can contain.

As I write, you are soundly sleeping on the bed. You have actually just fell asleep while watching different videos of Lightning McQueen on YouTube.

Yes, you are crazy about the movie Cars both part 1 and 2. You are always quick to say, “McQueen!”, “Mater!”, “cars!”, “bus!”, “truck!”, and “firetruck!” every time you see them in a video, movie, or real life.

Then I’d clap my hands and tell you how very good you are to remember them and articulately say them in words.

Your first word really is “mommy!” which you uttered calling me out when Lolo Junito took you in his arms. You were eight months then. Aunt Celeste and Aunt Jenny are witnesses.

Daddy eventually became your word but referring to your Granny, who takes good care of you when mommy is away for work.

With no househelp at hand, Granny would always put you in front of the PC or laptop to watch cartoons in YouTube so she can do the chores. We showed you a lot of educational shows but it was Barney who caught your fancy.

Then you saw Wheels on the Bus. You’ve almost watched all the videos there is of that nursery song and your penchant for real and toy vehicles began.

Seeing how your eyes open up with so much delight, mommy bought you countless miniature buses for toys. When you discovered the window, you secretly drop some of these bus toys outside.

We actually live in the third floor of a four-story apartment building with a full view of downtown Cebu and vehicle route. You call everything that passes by as “bus!”. Eventually you knew cars, tashi (taxi) and jeep. Still, you call vans as bus and SUVs as big bus.

Your favorite ride, however, is the taxi. You para or hail them every time we wait for a ride on the side of the road. You always sit still and behave when inside a moving cab. You only move or lean on the window when the cab halts but you sit back when it starts to move again.

I paused writing for a moment to kiss you and savor your baby scent. I can’t get enough of your soft sweet smelling skin. I almost can’t stop kissing you–your head, your cheeks, your shoulders, your arms, your armpit, your back, your legs, your feet, and your hands.

It’s one of my favorite moments. Kissing you while you’re peacefully asleep. Gently stroking your hair away from your face. Watching every inch of you.

You are God’s greatest gift to mommy.

A while ago I gave you a stern look so you would sleep. You, my little night owl, slept at 4 a.m. today. You stared back at my eyes for five seconds then maybe realizing that I’m really mad, you took my hand and kissed it. You also went for my thighs and kissed them as well. Usually, you give a kiss on the lips when you know you’ve done something that angered me, your Granny, and your Titos. Thigh and hand kissing are new for today. Perhaps, you’ve learned that when I kissed your yayay on your finger and leg. Anyway, your kisses soften me easily that I let you do your thing–watch YouTube until you fall asleep.

Now, I glance again at you and ending this post to join you in your slumber.

